203 Severn Suzuki


Who is Severn Suzuki?

 

Listen to her speech and complete with words you can hear.

 

1

5

10

15

20

25

In 1992, 12-year-old Canadian Severn Suzuki spoke at the Earth Summit in Rio with eloquence and passion in front of world leaders. Now known as “The Girl Who Silenced the World for 6 Minutes”, the video clip of the speech is still making rounds on YouTube, continuing to inspire youth all over the world.

Hello, I’m Severn Suzuki speaking for E.C.O. – The E…………………………. C……………………… ‘s O…………………………….

We are a group of …………………………. and ………………………….-year-olds from …………………………. trying to make a difference:
 Vanessa Suttie, Morgan Geisler, Michelle Quigg and me. We raised all the money ourselves to come …….. ………………….. miles to tell you ……………….. you must change your ways.

 

Coming here today, I have no hidden agenda. I am fighting for my …………………

Losing my future is not like losing an election or a few points on the stock market. I am here to speak for all ……………….. to come.

I am here to speak on behalf of the starving children around the world whose cries go unheard.

I am here to speak for the countless ……………….. dying across this planet because they have nowhere left to go. We cannot afford to be not heard.

I am ……………….. to go out in the ……………….. now because of the holes in the ………………… I am afraid to breathe the ……………….. because I don’t know what ……………….. are in it.

I used to go ……………….. in Vancouver with my dad until just a few years ago we found the fish full of ………………… And now we hear about animals and ……………….. going ……………….. every day — vanishing forever.

In my life, I have dreamt of seeing the great herds of ……………….. animals, ……………….. and ……………….. full of birds and ……………….., but now I wonder if they will even exist for my children to see.

Did you have to ……………….. about these little things when you were my age?

All this is happening before our eyes and yet we act as if we have all the ……………….. we want and all the ………………… I’m only a child and I don’t have all the solutions, but I want you to ……………….., neither do you!

  • You don’t know how to fix the holes in our ……………….. layer.
  • You don’t know how to bring salmon back up a dead stream.
  • You don’t know how to bring back an animal now …………………
  • And you can’t bring back ……………….. that once grew where there is now …………………

If you don’t know how to ……………….. it, please stop ……………….. it!

2 thoughts on “203 Severn Suzuki

  1. bonjour madame je vous écrit ce message pour vous dire que je n’ai fait que le texte a trou car je n’ai pas trouver le reste du travail commencer en classe.De plus j’aimerais savoir si vous apporter le texte a trou sur clé USB est possible? Merci

    Like

Leave a Reply

